clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Derrick Williams named Pac-10 Player of the Year, Miller earns COY

No surprises here -- after Washington Husky Isaiah Thomas' stellar play dropped off toward the end of the season and Washington State Cougar Klay Thompson got caught with some marijuana, it was Arizona Wildcat Derrick Williams who won the Pacific 10 Conference's Player of the Year award.

Williams also had competition in USC forward Nikola Vucevic, who actually had comparable numbers to Williams (17.7 points, 10.3 rebounds to Derrick's 18.8 points, 8.2 rebounds).

In addition, William's head coach, Sean Miller, received the Pac-10 Coach of the Year award by leading UA to a 25-6 (14-4 Pac-10) record in only his second season in the desert. That vote was probably a bit closer, with Cal's Mike Montgomery and Oregon's Dana Altman leading their teams to higher-than-expected finishes.

Otherwise, none of Arizona's other players showed up on either Pac-10 First Team or Second Team lists. Point guard Momo Jones appeared on the honorable mention list while guard Kyle Fogg didn't reach Miller's expectations of being on the All-Defensive team.

Fogg did, however, earn honorable mention status in that category.

Guard Jordin Mayes also appeared on the All-Freshman honorable mention list.

Earning the other awards were USC's Marcus Simmons for the defensive POY, Washington's Matthew Bryan-Amaning for the most improved player in the league and Cal youngster Allen Crabbe for the frosh of the year.

Do you think the awards were given to the right players or were there snubs (maybe Fogg not on the All-Defensive team)?