clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona baseball's Mejia, coach Lopez pick up Pac-12 awards

The Pac-12 announced its baseball All-Conference teams and individual awards on Wednesday, and the Arizona Wildcats' came out with a bit of hardwear.

Shortstop Alex Mejia earned both the Player of the Year award and the Defensive Player of the Year award while coach Andy Lopez brought home the Coach of the Year honor.

Mejia batted .357 on the year and led the Pac-12 with 81 hits. He is the first Wildcat to win the award since Trevor Crowe in 2005. Meanwhile, he's the first UA player to win the defensive honor after posted a .953 fielding percentage.

Lopez, unsurprisingly, got some recognition after leading the Wildcats to a co-share of the conference regular season title.

The rest of the Wildcats on the All-Conference team are listed after the jump.

Bobby Brown DH Sr. Arizona
Johnny Field OF So. Arizona
Kurt Heyer (3) RHP Jr. Arizona
Alex Mejia (2) SS Jr. Arizona
Seth Mejias-Brean 3B Jr. Arizona
Robert Refsnyder (2) OF Jr. Arizona