clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona announces 2019 Hall of Fame inductees

Antoine Cason
Photo by Donald Miralle/Getty Images

Seven of the greatest Wildcats in school history have been announced for the 2019 class of the University of Arizona Athletics Hall of Fame.

This year’s class is:

  • Coach Joan Bonvicini (women’s basketball, 1991-2008)
  • Antoine Cason (football, 2004-07)
  • May Mickelson (rifle, 1961-65)
  • Stephen Mikulic (baseball, 1970-71)
  • Taryne Mowatt (softball, 2005-08)
  • Dan Schneider (1961-62)
  • Alison Walshe (2006-08)

The first class of the Arizona Athletics Hall of Fame was inducted in 1976. Many years saw entire teams—or relay units—inducted to honor their national championships, as was the case last year with the 2018 women’s golf team. In 2017 the class included 10 swim relay teams that won national titles between 2006-10.

The 2019 class will be formally inducted at a ceremony at the Westin La Paloma Resort on Sept. 5. Two days later they’ll be honored during halftime of Arizona’s football home opener against NAU.