clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Report: One-time transfer waiver resolution tabled by NCAA until 2021

Bendu Yeaney, who transferred from Indiana to Arizona, won’t be eligible for the 2020-21 season
Marc Lebryk-USA TODAY Sports

At some point the NCAA may make it possible for all student-athletes to transfer once without penalty, but it won’t be happening this year.

Per Brett McMurphy of Stadium, the NCAA decided Wednesday to push back voting on the topic until January 2021, meaning that one-time transfer waivers wouldn’t go into effect until the 2021-22 academic year at the earliest.

Under current NCAA rules, the vast majority of players who transfer schools must sit out a year. Exceptions exist for athletes who have graduated and who can prove some sort of hardship, as was the case for former Kentucky guard Jemarl Baker Jr. in order for him to play for the Arizona Wildcats this past season.

The decision means transfer Bendu Yeaney, whom the women’s basketball team added from Indiana, will not be eligible for 2020-21. Her availability for the upcoming season was already in question as she continues to recover from an Achilles injury suffered in March 2019.

The UA men have one available scholarship for 2020-21, while Arizona’s football program is five players shy of the 85-scholarship limit.