clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona baseball: Scott Kingery named Pac-12 Player of the Year

No surprise here

Jason Bartel

After a season where he led the Pac-12 in many categories, Scott Kingery was named the conference's player of the year on Wednesday.

Kingery is joined by teammates Kevin Newman and Bobby Dalbec on the 32-man (!!!!) first-team all-conference list. That is Newman's third time to receive the honor. Only Ryan Kellogg (3) and David Berg (4) have more than him that are on this year's list. Newman is only the second player in Arizona history to be named all-conference three times. Kurt Heyer achieved the feat from 2010-12.

Kingery, Newman and Dalbec are also on the all-defensive team, which is interesting.

Cody Hamlin, Riley Moore and Justin Behnke were listed as honorable mentions, because it seems like the Pac-12 put just about every baseball player who started almost every game they were supposed to on the all-conference teams.

Only Utah and Stanford didn't get any players named first-team all-conference. Every other school had at least two selections, with ASU and UCLA leading the way with six apiece.

As we noted on Tuesday, Kingery won the conference batting title after hitting at a .392 clip in 2015. He's also a semifinalist for the Golden Spikes Award, given to the best amateur player in the country.

This is the sixth time an Arizona player has won Pac-12 Player of the Year. The others are Alex Mejia (2012), Trevor Crowe (2005), Alan Zinter and Scott Erickson (1989), Chip Hale (1987) and Terry Francona (1980).