clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arizona basketball: Pac-12 admits missed call at end of ASU loss

New, 2 comments

A Jahii Carson dunk with less than a second left should have been called a technical.

Ralph Freso

There was Jahii Carson, hanging on the rim with a game-sealing dunk after ASU teammate Jordan Bachynski swatted away the Arizona Wildcats' final hopes of pulling off an ugly win in Tempe. The Sunday loss for the Wildcats ended in bizarre fashion, and as Cal students did in UA's first loss of the season, a court storm was premature.

But the hanging on the rim technical was the thing that went overlooked by Pac-12 officials. After a standard review of the game's officiating crew, the league admitted the missed call as 0.7 initially remained on the game clock, according to ESPN's Andy Katz.

That seemed like the easy call to make on the court, but it likely wouldn't have mattered much. The Wildcats still had to make another bucket with hardly any time left.

The court-storming is probably the bigger concern, even if it didn't break any rules. Once the game was over following Nick Johnson's final heave that came up short, the Wildcats guard had to shove through a mob of ASU students just to get back to the Arizona bench.

Technicals for fans can't be called unless fans interfere and delay a play in real time, and the officials had to check the monitors to make sure the game clock was correct. After all, the officials couldn't penalize fans for throwing a giant head cutout onto the court during one break in action earlier on.