clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona basketball: Nick Johnson, Aaron Gordon and Sean Miller win Pac-12 awards

The Wildcats won a lot of awards.

Scott Olmos-USA TODAY Sports

As expected, the Arizona Wildcats received a party platter of awards at the end of the Pac-12 season.

Nick Johnson won the Pac-12 Player of the Year award and finished the season with averages of 16.1 points, 4.0 rebounds and 2.8 assists per game. Forward Derrick Williams was the last Arizona player to earn the honor and did so in 2011 before the Wildcats' Elite Eight run.

As expected, Johnson, the Naismith and Wooden Award finalist, also did a good deal of damage on the defensive end. That also placed him on the All-Defensive Team with backcourt mate T.J. McConnell.

The defensive player of the year honor went to ASU's Jordan Bachynski, who set a conference record in career blocks as a senior. Arizona freshman Aaron Gordon was omitted from the defensive team, even though he was No. 10 in defensive win shares nationally, according to College Sports Reference. McConnell ranked No. 6 in that statistic, and Utah Utes guard Delon Wright led all NCAA players with 3.0 defensive win shares -- he could also make an argument for DPOY considering he averages gaudy averages in 2.8 steals per game and 1.5 blocks per game. Stanford's Josh Huestis was the only forward on the All-Defensive team.

Gordon was honored as the Pac-12 Freshman of the Year and finished the season with averages of 12.3 points, 7.8 rebounds and 1.6 assists per game. He joined Johnson on the odd list of nine All-First-Team Pac-12, while McConnell made the second team.

Arizona coach Sean Miller took home the Pac-12 Coach of the Year award after leading the Wildcats to a 28-3 regular season record behind the nation's third-best team in terms of defensive rating, which allowed 89.5 points per 100 possessions. Miller also won the award in 2010-11.

And finally, freshman forward Rondae Hollis-Jefferson joined Gordon the five-member All-Freshman Team.