clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona basketball: Sean Miller not a finalist for National Coach of the Year

Not even on the final list of four names

NCAA Basketball: NCAA Tournament-Salt Lake City Practice Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

The Arizona Wildcats went 30-4 this season, were Pac-12 regular season co-champs, and Pac-12 Tournament champions, all while missing its leading returning scorer for 19 games, its only true point guard suffering an ankle injury, the top-rated recruit of the class bailing for Australia, and another top recruit suffering a career-ending knee injury in the preseason.

Yet Sean Miller is not one of the four finalists for National Coach of the Year.

The Atlanta Tipoff Club, who is responsible for this particular award, announced the four finalists on Thursday, and they are: Mark Few (Gonzaga), Chris Collins (Northwestern), Bill Self (Kansas), and Jay Wright (Villanova).

Certainly all of these people are worthy of the award, and Collins is the likely candidate to take it home after leading Northwestern to its first NCAA Tournament appearance, but Miller should probably be on this list ahead of Bill Self.

Starting Monday, you’ll be able to vote for Coach of the Year here. The winner of the award will be announced in Scottsdale on Final Four Sunday on April 2nd.