clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Michael Wright to be inducted into Pac-12 Hall of Honor

Wright was a three-time All-Pac-10 selection

Michael Wright #21...

Former Arizona Wildcats forward Michael Wright will be inducted into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor on March 9 in a ceremony prior to the semifinals of the Pac-12 Tournament, the conference announced on Monday.

The late Wright, who was tragically found dead in an SUV in Brooklyn in November 2015, was a three-time All-Pac-10 selection.

Wright is a member of Arizona’s 1,000-point, 750-rebound club, finishing his college career with 1,491 points and 822 rebounds.

Wright received All-American honors in his final two seasons at Arizona, and was part of UA’s Final Four team in 2001.

The Chicago native ranks in the top 10 in a handful of UA career statistics, including field goal percentage, free throws, free throws attempted, rebounds and rebounding average. Wright’s career started with the 1998-99 Pac-10 Freshman of the Year award and ended with enshrinement in McKale Center’s Ring of Honor.

Following his collegiate career, Wright was selected by the New York Knicks with the 39th pick in the 2001 NBA Draft, though he never player in an NBA game, instead spending more than decade playing in some of Europe’s top leagues.

Wright’s legacy has continued after his passing with the establishment of the Michael Wright A-Club Scholarship Endowment. The fund raised over $85,000 dollars to provide financial support to former student-athletes who wish to complete their undergraduate degree after finishing their eligibility.

The endowment was built by the donations of Wright’s teammates, coaches, Arizona staff and Wildcat fans.

10 other student-athletes and a coach will also be inducted into the Pac-12 Hall of Honor on March 9.

They are: Linda Vollstedt (Arizona State), Matt Biondi (Cal), Bill Toomey (Colorado), Andrew Wheating (Oregon), Carol Menken-Schaudt (Oregon State), Kerri Walsh Jennings (Stanford), Rafer Johnson (UCLA), Cheryl Miller (USC), Missy Marlowe (Utah), Sonny Sixkiller (Washington), Laura Lavine (Washington State).