clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Help Aari McDonald win the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award

Think Aari is one of the top players in the country? Cast your vote!

aari-mcdonald-arizona-wildcats-womens-college-basketball-improvement-2021-senior-wnba-adia-barnes Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images

The season may have ended unceremoniously, but there are still awards to be handed out and players to be celebrated. One of those awards is the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award for the nation’s top shooting guard. The Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year, Arizona’s Aari McDonald, is one of five on that ballot.

McDonald ended the season leading the Pac-12 with 20.6 points and 2.3 steals per game. She was second on the Wildcats and 22nd in the conference with 5.6 rebounds per game. Her 31.8 minutes per game were tied with Leilani McIntosh of California for eighth in the league.

A committee consisting of Women’s Basketball Coaches Association members, hall of famers and media members handle primary selection responsibilities throughout the process, but one thing that sets the Naismith Starting Five awards apart from other college basketball awards is the fan voting component.

Fans are invited to vote HERE for the Ann Meyers Drysdale award along with the Nancy Lieberman Award (point guard), the Cheryl Miller Award (small forward), Katrina McClain Award (power forward) and Lisa Leslie Award (center). Voters must choose one player for each award and can vote once per day.

McDonald is just one of several Pac-12 players among the finalists. Oregon’s Sabrina Ionescu is among the finalists for the Nancy Lieberman Award. Satou Sabally of Oregon and Michaela Onyenwere of UCLA are up for the Cheryl Miller Award. The Ducks also placed Ruthy Hebard among the final five for the Katrina McClain Award.

Arizona’s Cate Reese was among the ten semifinalists for the Katrina McClain Award, but she did not make the final five.