clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2013 Doak Walker Award: Andre Williams honored as Ka'Deem Carey misses out

Boston College's Andre Williams won the 2013 Doak Walker Award ahead of Arizona football's Ka'Deem Carey and Washington's Bishop Sankey.

Casey Sapio-USA TODAY Sports

Ka'Deem Carey wasn't named the winner of the Doak Walker Award given to the nation's best running back on Thursday, and instead it went to Independence Bowl opponent Andre Williams. It's a disappointing end to what might be Carey's final month on the Arizona Wildcats football team, because as Daniel Berk of the Arizona Daily Star on Wednesday, Carey filed to the NFL draft advisory board.

Along with the Heisman Trophy snub, the fallout from Williams getting the Doak over Carey could do something to motivate the UA junior for a bowl game. How fitting would it be for Carey to end 2013 by going off on Boston College? And what better way to motivate the defense to stop Williams, who is of course deserving in his own right -- though we'd lean toward wondering why he won when Carey did not.

Can we get a Doak!? Doh!?

Carey did get a consolation prize -- he earned his second First Team Walter Camp Award honor.