clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arizona football: Scooby Wright adds another trophy with Bednarik Award victory

Not sure if Lowell-Stevens has enough room for all these damn trophies.

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

Arizona Wildcats sophomore linebacker Scooby Wright III kept adding on the hardware for his remarkable 2014 season Thursday night. Wright took home the Bednarik Award, which is awarded to the nation's top defensive player by the National College Football Awards Association.

Scooby becomes the second player from the Pac-12 Conference to ever win the award since its inception in 1995. USC's Rey Maualuga won it in 2008.

Wright also won top defensive player of the year on Monday when he received the Nagurski Award. Just like that award, the Bednarik was won by Pitt's Aaron Donald last year, a Matt Dudek recruiting special.

Arizona's star linebacker was the only defensive finalist for the Walter Camp Award, which was won by Oregon's Marcus Mariota. Mariota and Wright were both named players of the year by SB Nation on Thursday as well.

We'll have a summary of all of Scooby's accolades later on when they're all in, but it's a lot. Let's just say there's a lot of first-team All-Americans and Defensive Players of the Year out there. And all very well deserved. Looking forward to at least one more year of all the #ScoobySnacks.