clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona football depth chart for UNLV game released

Still no news on the starting quarterback, but other questions have been answered.

Kelvin Kuo-USA TODAY Sports

UPDATE (1:35 p.m. MST): Rich Rodriguez has announced Anu Solomon will indeed be the starting quarterback against UNLV.

Check back for more on the quarterback situation.


The Arizona Wildcats released their depth chart for the 2014 opener against UNLV, and it comes as no surprise that coach Rich Rodriguez isn't tipping his hand at who will start behind center. The depth chart lists Anu Solomon, Jesse Scroggins, Jerrard Randall and Connor Brewer as potential starters.

Yep. It'd be pretty great if RichRod really does end up announcing the starting quarterback five minutes before kickoff and via Twitter.

There are, however, a few clarifying notes elsewhere. At running back, Ka'Deem Carey's successor will be Terris Jones-Grigsby, the former walk-on and half brother of former UA running back Nic Grigsby. Behind him are UNLV transfer Adonis Smith and freshman Nick Wilson, both of whom should see plenty of snaps as the No. 2 and 3 players on the depth chart.

The deep wide-receiving group has a few newcomers who have jumped into the fold. Texas transfer Caleb Jones will start ahead of sophomore Trey Griffey, and Notre Dame transfer DaVonte' Neal, who also won the punt return job, appears to be in competition for snaps with Nate Phillips. Austin Hill is curiously listed as competing for snaps with Dave Richards.

Defensively, the strongside linebacker spot is a three-way, tongue-twisting tie between Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea, Derrick Turituri and Cody Ippolito. The cornerback and line look as expected, though William Parks' being listed at spur safety means Tra'Mayne Bondurant's status remains unchanged for the time being.

Before you peek at the entire depth chart, take a bit of advice from Daily Star beat writer Daniel Berk.

Below, note OR recognizes competitions, whereas commas separate first, second and third strings.


QB: Anu Solomon OR Jesse Scroggins OR Jerrard Randall OR Connor Brewer

RB: Terris Jones-Grigsby, Adonis Smith OR Nick Wilson

WR: Cayleb Jones, Trey Griffey

WR: Austin Hill OR David Richards

SLOT: DaVonte' Neal OR Nate Phillips

SLOT: Samajie Grant, Jonathan Haden OR Tyrell Johnson

C: Steven Gurrola, Carter Wood

LT: Mickey Baucas, Layth Friekh

LG: Cayman Bundage, Zach Hemmila

RT: Fabbians Ebele, Lene Maiava

RG: Jacob Alsadek, T.D. Gross


DE: Reggie Gilbert, Jordan Allen

NOSE: Jeff Worthy, Parker Zellers

TACKLE: Dan Pettinato, Calvin Allen, Aiulua Fanene

SLB: Makani Kema-Kaleiwahea OR Derrick Turituri OR Cody Ippolito

MLB: Scooby Wright, Hank Hobson

WLB: DeAndre' Miller OR Jake Matthews

SPUR: William Parks, Tellas Jones

BANDIT: Jared Tevis, Blake Brady

LC: Jonathan McKnight, Cam Denson

RC: Jarvis McCall Jr., Devin Holiday

FS: Jourdon Grandon, Jamar Allah



KICKOFF RETURN: Jared Baker and Samajie Grant

KICKER: Casey Skowron

PUNTER: Drew Riggleman

KICKOFF: Casey Skowron OR Ethan Keyserling