clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona football: Four Wildcats named to preseason award watch lists

A lot of preseason love on both sides of the ball for Arizona

Mark J. Rebilas-USA TODAY Sports

The Maxwell Football Club announced their pre-season watch lists for both the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards on Tuesday, and four Arizona Wildcats find themselves being watched.

The Maxwell Award is given to the best player in college football for that season. Redshirt sophomore Anu Solomon and true sophomore Nick Wilson both made the cut for that watch list.

The Bednarik Award is given to the best defensive player of the year, which was won by Scooby Wright III last season. Wright is of course on the watch list for this year, as he looks to defend his title. He's joined by senior safety William Parks.

All four of these guys, along with Cayleb Jones, will likely be on many preseason award watch lists after leading a young Arizona team to a 10-4 record last year.

The fun thing about the Maxwell Award watch list is that it has all three Ohio State quarterbacks on it.

As long as the new faces on the offensive line live up to their capabilities, both Solomon and Wilson could have enormous seasons as the Rich Rodriguez offense finally has the pieces it needs to succeed at the highest level. Of course, Wright will be the favorite to win the Bednarik, but Will Parks may be able to put up some pretty big numbers with another year of the 3-3-5 under his belt.

The Maxwell Club announces more award watch lists later this and next week. I'd expect to see Drew Riggleman on the Ray Guy Award watch list on Thursday, with Scooby and Nick Wilson picking up a couple more nods as we make our way through the watch list season.