clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arizona Wildcats 2017 football schedule and other important dates to know

All the dates you need to know for the upcoming season

Grambling v Arizona Photo by Jennifer Stewart/Getty Images

The 2017 college football season is almost here and the Arizona Wildcats are less than a week away from their first practice.

Arizona begins camp on July 31 and will practice Monday through Saturday until Aug. 19 (Sundays off-days).

Here are some other dates to be mindful of as the calendar flips to August:

Pac-12 Media Days

Wednesday, July 26 and Thursday, July 27

Head coach Rich Rodriguez, offensive lineman Jacob Alsadek, and defensive lineman Luca Bruno will speak to the media to discuss the upcoming season and other things relevant to Arizona football at Hollywood & Highland in Hollywood, Calif.

Linebacker DeAndre’ Miller was supposed to attend instead of Bruno, but a foot injury has sidelined him (our Gabe Encinas listed Miller as one of Arizona’s most important players this season, so that is obviously not an ideal start for him).

Pac-12 Media Days will be airing on Pac-12 Network and can be live streamed on Pac-12.com.

The event starts at 9 a.m. PT on Wednesday. The full schedule can be found here.

Local Media Day/Fort Huachuca Team Dinner

Saturday, Aug. 19

After a morning practice and a team lunch, Arizona’s players and coaches will meet with local media before heading up to Fort Huachuca for a team dinner with personnel and community members on post.

Start of Classes

Monday, Aug. 21

Arizona will return to its standard regular season practice schedule, shifting from afternoon practices to early morning practices.

Beanie Bowl – Open to the Public

Friday, Aug. 25

The Beanie Bowl is an open-to-the-public scrimmage that is not only designed to allow UA’s players to get some extra work in before the season, but it’s also an opportunity for students, especially new ones, to get their first glimpse of the team.

The Beanie Bowl is not the most interesting thing if you’re looking for high-quality football — it’s mostly non-contact and starters vs. the scout team — but they did hand out Raising Cane’s vouchers to those in attendance last year, so that’s cool at least.

2017 season begins vs. NAU

Saturday, Sept. 2 | 8 p.m. MST

Arizona will host the Northern Arizona Lumberjacks to kick off the 2017 season. The rest of the Wildcats’ schedule is as follows...

Arizona vs. Houston

Saturday, Sept. 9 | 7:30 p.m. MST


Arizona at UTEP

Friday, Sept. 15 | 7:15 p.m. MST


Arizona vs. Utah

Friday, Sept. 22 | 7:30 p.m. MST


Arizona at Colorado

Saturday, Oct. 7 | TBD


Arizona vs. UCLA

Saturday, Oct. 14 | TBD


Arizona at Cal

Saturday, Oct. 21 | TBD


Arizona vs. Washington State

Saturday, Oct. 28 | TBD


Arizona at USC

Saturday, Nov. 4 | TBD


Arizona vs. Oregon State

Saturday, Nov. 11 | TBD


Arizona at Oregon

Saturday, Nov. 18 | TBD


Arizona at Arizona State

Saturday, Nov. 25 | TBD