clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona football names team captains for 2020 season

Washington State v Arizona Photo by Jennifer Stewart/Getty Images

The Arizona Wildcats have named their team captains for the 2020 football season, and they are as follows:

  • Sophomore quarterback Grant Gunnell
  • Senior tight end Bryce Wolma
  • Redshirt senior cornerback Lorenzo Burns
  • Senior linebacker Anthony Pandy
  • Redshirt junior linebacker/defensive end Jalen Harris

The captains were voted by their peers. None of the selections are a surprise.

Gunnell is the starting quarterback, probably the team’s best player and the vocal leader of the offense. Burns is the leader of an inexperienced secondary and led the Wildcats with four interceptions and seven pass breakups last year.

Pandy is only senior linebacker left after Colin Schooler and Tony Fields II transferred away. He was Arizona’s third-leading tackler last season and says he will be “calling the shots” for the defense as the Mike linebacker.

Harris led the Wildcats in sacks last season (4) and has bulked up significantly.

Wolma hasn’t put up notable numbers since his freshman season—he’s caught 10 passes over the last two years—but made the Pac-12 All-Academic First Team last year and is co-president of the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC).

And, hey, tight ends like Wolma might actually be involved in the offense this year!