clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arizona WR Stanley Berryhill III nominated for Burlsworth Trophy

arizona-wildcats-stanley-berryhill-burlsworth-trophy-walkon-2021-football-pac12-receiver Photo by Michael Owens/Getty Images

When Stanley Berryhill III walked on to the Arizona football team as a freshman in 2017 he was so far down the depth chart he didn’t see the field that first season. Now he’s arguably the Wildcats’ best offensive player.

And he’s also a nominee for a major national award.

Berryhill is one of 89 FBS players nominated for the Burlsworth Trophy, given annually to college football’s top player who began his career as a walk-on.

The 5-foot-11 Berryhill, who was put on scholarship prior to the 2018 season, leads Arizona with 59 receptions and 505 yards. The catch total is second-best in the Pac-12, and with seven more he’ll move into the top 10 on the school’s single-season receptions list; he needs 34 over the final four games to match Bobby Wade’s school record of 93 set in 2002.

For his career, Berryhill has 115 catches for 1,228 yards and nine TDs.

The 2021 Burlsworth Trophy winner will be announced on Dec. 6. Previous winners include Clemson wide receiver Hunter Renfrow (2018), Washington State quarterback Luke Falk (2017) and Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield (2016).