clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Arizona football announces open preseason practice schedule

gunner-cruz-will-plummer-arizona-wildcats-starting-quarterback-announcement-byu-2021-depth-chart Photo by Jevone Moore/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

There are still almost seven weeks until the 2021 season, but training camp is just around the corner. And much like in the spring, it will be open to the public.

Arizona has announced 13 open practices, six of which have been designated as “Fan Fest” practices:

  • Friday, Aug. 6 (8:30 a.m., Fan Fest activities TBD)
  • Saturday, Aug. 7 (8:30 a.m., Fan Fest activities TBD)
  • Sunday, Aug. 8 (7:30 p.m., Fan Fest activities TBD)
  • Monday, Aug. 9 (6:30 p.m.)
  • Wednesday, Aug. 11 (6:30 p.m.)
  • Thursday, Aug. 12 (6:30 p.m.)
  • Friday, Aug. 13 (9:30 a.m.)
  • Saturday, Aug. 14 (8:30 a.m., Fan Fest activities TBD)
  • Sunday, Aug. 15 (7:30 p.m., Fan Fest activities TBD)
  • Tuesday, Aug. 17 (8:30 a.m.)
  • Wednesday, Aug. 18 (6:30 p.m.)
  • Thursday, Aug. 19 (7:30 p.m.)
  • Saturday, Aug. 21 (7:30 p.m., Fan Fest activities TBD)

Details about what Fan Fest activities will be involved, as well as where practices will be held—either at the Davis Sports Center/Dick Tomey Practice Fields or inside Arizona Stadium—are to be announced.

The open practices are a major shift away from the secrecy of the Kevin Sumlin era when very few, if any, practices were open to the public.

Arizona will move to a regular game-week schedule on Aug. 23 ahead of its season opener, set for Sept. 4 against BYU in Las Vegas. The home opener is Sept. 11 against San Diego State.