clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona softball: Wildcats receive several Pac-12 awards

Arizona takes home a slew of Pac-12 awards

Photo courtesy of Arizona Athletics

Several Arizona Wildcats received Pac-12 softball awards on Monday, the conference announced.

In total, 10 Wildcats were recognized, five of whom were named to the All-Pac-12 First Team.

Most notably, Danielle O’Toole was named Pac-12 Pitcher of the Year, Katiyana Mauga was named Pac-12 Co-Player of the Year, and Mike Candrea was named Pac-12 Coach of the Year.

O’Toole is the first Wildcat to be named the conference’s Pitcher of the Year since Alicia Hollowell in 2004 and Mauga is the first Wildcat to win Pac-12 Player of the Year since Caitlin Lowe won the award in 2005.

This is the first time in program history that Arizona has the conference’s Player and Pitcher of the Year in the same season.

Meanwhile, this is the 12th time Candrea has been named Pac-12 Coach of the Year, though it’s the first time since 2007.

Here is how Arizona is represented on the all-conference teams:

All-Pac-12 First Team: Jessie Harper, Katiyana Mauga, Mo Mercado, Danielle O'Toole, Mandie Perez

All-Pac-12 Second Team: Ashleigh Hughes, Taylor McQuillin, Alyssa Palomino

All-Pac-12 Third Team: Reyna Carranco

Pac-12 All-Freshman Team: Reyna Carranco, Jessie Harper, Dejah Mulipola, Alyssa Palomino

Pac-12 All-Defensive Team: Mo Mercado, Danielle O'Toole

You can find the entire press release here.

The Wildcats, who are the No. 2 overall seed in the NCAA Tournament, begin postseason play on Friday when they host New Mexico State in the Tucson Regional.

First pitch is set for 6:30 p.m. PST and it will be televised on ESPNU.

You can follow this author on Twitter at @RKelapire