clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Arizona’s Dejah Mulipola, Alyssa Palomino-Cardoza invited to USA Softball 2020 Olympic Team Selection Trials

Former UA catcher Chelsea Goodacre will be there too

Japan v USA - Softball Friendly
Dejah Mulipola
Photo by Takashi Aoyama/Getty Images

Arizona senior catcher Dejah Mulipola and senior center fielder Alyssa Palomino-Cardoza were two of 30 players invited to the USA Softball 2020 Olympic Team Selection Trials on Friday.

Former UA catcher Chelsea Goodacre, who currently plays for the National Pro Fastpitch’s USSSA Pride, will be participating in the tryouts as well, which will take place Oct. 1-6 in Oklahoma City.

The final roster will consist of 15 players and be announced Oct. 6.

Mulipola has a great chance of making the Olympic team, as she was Team USA’s top catcher this summer during USA Softball International Cup. If she or Palomino-Cardoza make the squad, they would miss the 2020 college season.

Mulipola has said she would redshirt and return in 2021, but that is not possible for Palomino-Cardoza who already redshirted during her true freshman season after tearing her ACL.

Mulipola was the Johnny Bench and NFCA Catcher of the Year as a junior in 2019, after hitting .305 with 23 homers and 43 RBI, while playing stellar defense.

Palomino-Cardoza was a first-team NFCA All-American for the second straight season, hitting .386 with 19 homers and 33 RBI.

Here is the full list of the 30 participants who will be in OKC:

  • Monica Abbott, P
  • Ali Aguilar, IF
  • Valerie Arioto, IF
  • Sis Bates, IF
  • Ally Carda, P/IF
  • Amanda Chidester, C
  • Taylor Edwards, C
  • Megan Faraimo, P
  • Hannah Flippen, IF
  • Montana Fouts, P
  • Rachel Garcia, P/DP
  • Chelsea Goodacre, C
  • Carley Hoover, P
  • Jazmyn Jackson, OF
  • Sahvanna Jaquish, C/IF
  • Amanda Lorenz, OF
  • Haylie McCleney, OF
  • Kirsti Merritt, OF
  • Michelle Moultrie, OF
  • Dejah Mulipola, C
  • Aubree Munro, C
  • Bubba Nickles, UT
  • Cat Osterman, P
  • Alyssa Palomino-Cardoza, OF
  • Shelby Pendley, IF
  • Janie Reed, OF
  • Keilani Ricketts, P
  • Sydney Romero, IF
  • Delaney Spaulding, IF
  • Kelsey Stewart, UT