clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

7 former Arizona Wildcats to play in Athletes Unlimited softball league this summer

Athletes Unlimited Softball Final Weekend
Danielle O’Toole
Photo by Quinn Harris/Getty Images

Seven former Arizona softball players—Danielle O’Toole, Taylor McQuillin, Alyssa Denham, Jessie Harper, Katiyana Mauga, Dejah Mulipola, and Gina Snyder—are participating in the second season of Athletes Unlimited this summer.

Play begins Aug. 28 and runs through Sept. 27 at the Parkway Bank Sports Complex in Rosemont, Illinois.

In case you didn’t know, Athletes Unlimited is a player-centric league in which teams are drafted by captains every week and players earn points based on their team and individual performance. The players compete for five weeks and the top performers earn prizes and cash bonuses in addition to their salaries.

There are 60 athletes in the league, most of whom were star players in college. Mauga, No. 2 in NCAA history in homers, was Arizona’s top-ranked alumni in the inaugural season last summer, finishing 14th on the leaderboard. O’Toole, McQuillin and Mandie Perez were 16th, 51st and 42nd, respectively.

The first draft of the 2021 campaign occurred on Tuesday, Aug. 24. The initial captains are Cat Osterman, Jessie Warren, Victoria Hayward and Erika Piancastelli, who were the top point-getters last season.

Mulipola is on Team Osterman, O’Toole, Harper, McQuillin and Snyder are on Team Warren, and Denham and Mauga are on Team Hayward.

Athletes Unlimited games will air on a variety of networks, including CBS Sports Network, FOX Sports 1 and 2, YouTube and Facebook. The full schedule can be found here.

Team Warren opens against Team Hayward on Saturday at 1 p.m. PT on YouTube. Team Osterman will face Team Piancastelli at 4 p.m. PT on FOX Sports 1.